Abbeville County Sheriff Special Election Race Set

March 28, 2013

The stage is set for the special election for the vacant Abbeville County Sheriff post.

Yesterday’s democratic primary results are in and the Abbeville County Elections office reported that Ray Watson took in fifty-one percent of the total vote during Tuesday’s primary.

Watson currently serves as the Captain of Detectives for the Greenwood County Sheriff’s Office.

Three other candidates were included in the primary with Marion Johnson coming in behind Watson with thirty-five percent of the vote, Bobby Hall took in eight percent, and Raymond Vandiver brought in five percent of the vote.

Coming up on May 14th Watson will take on Republican challenger Skipper O’Bannon, who is the acting Chief of Police for the Abbeville police department.

Granite Country Weather


  • April 26, 2014 8:00 am26th Annual Kid's Fishing Derby
  • April 26, 2014 9:00 amAnnual Cause for Paws 5K Obstacle Run
  • April 27, 2014St. Mary's CME Church 146 Church Anniversary
  • April 27, 2014 2:30 pm2nd Choir Anniversary
AEC v1.0.4