GA High School Students Named to US Senate Youth Program

January 18, 2013

Two Georgia high school students have been selected as delegates for the 51st annual United States Senate Youth Program.

Sens. Saxby Chambliss and Johnny Isakson announced Tuesday that Eric Beeler of Johns Creek and Caitlin Felt of Elberton were chosen to be part of the 104 student delegates nationwide in the program this year.

They will visit Washington, D.C., from March 9 to March 16 and will receive a $5,000 college scholarship.

Felt attends Madison County High School. In addition to outstanding leadership abilities and a strong commitment to volunteer work, the student delegates rank academically in the top one percent of their states among high school juniors and seniors.

The program was created in 1962 to increase students’ understanding of and involvement in government. It is sponsored by the U.S. Senate and The Hearst Foundations.